MLB 2022 playoffs: bracket, scores, matchups, schedule as Mariners and Guardians advance to ALDS

CBS Sports

The Major League Baseball playoffs kicked off Friday with the all-new Wild Card Series. MLB is using a 12-team playoff format for the first time in 2022, and eight teams are competing in the best-of-three Wild Card Series. Two teams have already switched to LDS: the Guardians and the Mariners. The Mariners ousted the Blue Jays with a shocking seven-point comeback on Saturday to sweep the best-of-three road series. The Guardians took care of the Rays in two games, beating them Saturday in Game 2 of 15 innings.

Things are still undecided on the National League side in the Wild Card series. The Cardinals and Mets host Game 2 on Saturday night, trying to keep their seasons alive against the Phillies and Padres, respectively.

The top two teams in each league (the American League’s Astros and Yankees and the National League’s Dodgers and Braves) have received byes and will begin their playoff journeys in the LDS Round next week. Once teams complete the Wild Card Series, the playoffs will look like themselves: a best-of-five Division Series, then a best-of-seven League Championship Series before the best-of-seven World Series. .

Below is the schedule and results for each round of the playoffs.

2022 MLB Playoff Support

CBS Sports

Wild Card Series Schedule (Best of Three)

Friday, October 7

Game 1: Guardians vs. Rays

KEY 2, TB 1

ESPN

Game 1: Cardinals vs. Phillies

ISP 6, STL 3

ABC

Game 1: Blue Jays vs. Mariners

WED 4, TOR 0

ESPN

Game 1: Mets vs. Padres

SD 7, NYM 1

ESPN

Saturday October 8

Game 2: Guardians vs. Rays

KEY 1, TB 0 (15)

ESPN2

Game 2: Blue Jays vs. Mariners

WED 10, TOR 9

ESPN

Game 2: Mets vs. Padres

7:37 p.m. ET

ESPN

Game 2: Cardinals vs. Phillies

8:37 p.m. ET

ESPN2

Sunday October 9

Game 3: Mets vs. Padres (if necessary)

4:07 p.m. ET or 7:07 p.m. ET

ESPN

Game 3: Cardinals vs. Phillies (if necessary)

7:07 p.m. ET or 7:37 p.m. ET

ESPN

League Division Series

Tuesday, October 11

Game 1: Braves vs. TBD

Fox or FS1

Game 1: Dodgers vs. TBD

Fox or FS1

Game 1: Yankees vs. Guardians

TBS

Game 1: Astros vs. Mariners

TBS

Wednesday 12 Oct.

Game 2: Braves vs. TBD

Fox or FS1

Game 2: Dodgers vs. TBD

Fox or FS1

Thursday October 13

Game 2: Yankees vs. Guardians

TBS

Game 2: Astros vs. Mariners

TBS

Friday October 14

Game 3: Braves vs. TBD

FS1

Game 3: Dodgers vs. TBD

FS1

Saturday October 15

Game 4: Braves vs. TBD (if needed)

FS1

Game 4: Dodgers vs. TBD (if needed)

FS1

Game 3: Yankees vs. Guardians

TBS

Game 3: Astros vs. Mariners

TBS

Sunday October 16

Game 4: Yankees vs. Guardians (if needed)

TBS

Game 4: Astros vs. Mariners 4 (if needed)

TBS

Game 5: Braves vs. TBD (if needed)

FS1

Game 5: Dodgers vs. TBD (if needed)

FS1

Monday, October 17

Game 5: Yankees vs. Guardians (if needed)

TBS

Game 5: Astros vs. Mariners (if needed)

TBS

League Championship Series

Tuesday, October 18

NLCS, Game 1

Fox or FS1

Wednesday October 19

NLCS, Game 2

Fox or FS1

ALCS, Game 1

TBS

Thursday, October 20

ALCS, Game 2

TBS

Friday October 21

NLCS, Game 3

FS1

Saturday October 22

NLCS Game 4

Fox or FS1

ALCS, Game 3

TBS

Sunday October 23

NLCS, Game 5 (if needed)

FS1

NLCS Game 4

TBS

Monday October 24

NLCS, Game 6 (if needed)

FS1

ALCS, Game 5 (if needed)

TBS

Tuesday, October 25

NLCS, Game 7 (if needed)

Fox and FS1

ALCS, Game 6 (if needed)

TBS

Wednesday October 26

ALCS, Game 7 (if needed)

TBS

World Events

Friday, October 28

Game 1

Fox

Saturday October 29

Game 2

Fox

Sunday October 30

travel day

Monday October 31

Game 3

Fox

Tuesday, November 1

Game 4

Fox

Wednesday November 2

Game 5 (if needed)

Fox

Thursday, November 3

travel day

Friday, November 4

Game 6 (if needed)

Fox

Saturday November 5

Game 7 (if needed)

Fox

Add Comment